Reviews

Share


JonMIllsPhoto

"Lori Dennis is to be applauded as a mental health professional and loving mother concerned enough to bring this complex systemic issue to world attention. This is a thoughtful, sensitive and erudite exploration of a cryptic medial condition that is often unrecognized and dismissed by the medical community, only to be met with crass ignorance, narcissistic arrogance by doctors, and intellectual myopia by an unempathic healthcare system governed by politics, ideology, and financial self-interest that invalidate and undermine those who suffer from this chronic illness. Lyme deserves to be addressed as an international phenomenon that requires public engagement and healthcare policy reform.”–Jon Mills, PsyD, PhD, Psych., ABPP, Professor of Psychology & Psychoanalysis, Adler Graduate Professional School, Toronto 

"Well done Lori Dennis. I am recommending your work of passion to all my clients, colleagues, friends and family."Lyme Madness is a work of bravery and I highly recommend it. The author, Lori Dennis, needs to be applauded for tasking up the fight about Lyme Disease so stoutly. If you are ignorant about Lyme disease, let me tell you it is a chronic, crippling and cruel disease that afflicts millions worldwide, yet goes largely unregarded and acknowledged by those who should know better. Unlike a very fast acting and obvious infection like Ebola, Lyme develops slowly and almost sneakily. Lyme is also very difficult to diagnose, simply, cheaply and unequivocally. When you read Lyme Madness you will see the tragic parallels when you recall the efforts of Dr. Barry Marshall who was maligned and castigated for his diagnosis that peptic ulcers are caused by H.Pilori. The reactions of the over centralized power structures that seek to control the healing arts is procrustean, self serving and harmful. To them I say “Guys, we need to get to the bottom of this madness we call Lyme.” –Dr. C. S. SAUNDERS

"I recently finished reading Lori Dennis's book Lyme Madness. Kudos to Lori for writing such a compelling book on her sons struggles and a mothers unrelenting attempt to navigate the insanity of this disease we call Lyme. The story resonates and is all too familiar to those of us suffering. Well done Lori, I certainly hope the book is well read outside of the Lyme community, bringing much needed exposure to this medial abyss. As much as I wish I had the support of my mother, I am grateful she is not here to witness what this insidious illness has done to the life of her only son. Madness indeed!"–Glenn Phillippe

"Finally, as a post script to the last chapter of your book, 'Final Thoughts; Out of the Rabbit Hole and Into the Light', I sincerely hope that your son Matt is exiting that rabbit hole, and returning to improved health. As Dr. Kenneth B. Liegner notes, the mothers of Lyme patients are moving mountains to bring about meaningful Lyme reform. You are one of those movers.  Thank you for your book, and all that you do for the Lyme community. Please keep up the good work!!–LH


All I want to do is thank you for your article about Lyme Disease and its effect on the brain and personality.  I have been a Lyme sufferer since 1992, and my daughter contracted it at the same time when she was two. We both are living in hell, dealing with this disease alone, especially here in California where the doctors tell you, you can't get it here.  I would so like to see more articles like yours, the larger media outlets report on this more and for people to open up their eyes. Unfortunately, I feel AIDS made the front page because it was proven to be contagious to the innocent bystanders, so more people became involved in bringing it to light.  But those who don't have Lyme, or not affected by it through a relative, don't really care–it doesn't affect them, therefore why be sympathetic to Lyme sufferers.  Thank you again–I wish so much I could get the understanding you have shown in your words.  I hope your son can thrive and that the medical community someday finds a cure or management vehicle to help him and all Lyme sufferers. If I can every help with any study, or support–please feel free to contact me.  My brain isn't always ready to fight, but I try when I can.”


GOODREADS REVIEWS

5.0 out of 5 stars

An Amazing Eye-Opener. A Powerful Heartbreaking Story & A Must Read

By Gabriela Trofin-Tatár, Budapest, Hungary–January 30, 2017

“This book is an amazing eye opener for the hardships and challenges posed by the lyme disease. I had no idea how strangely ignorant the medical world has been about this disease. I was appalled. The book was very strong jn delivering this message and creating awareness. Hopefully more people will read and get informed and somehow help in findi5cures and more understanding from the academia and scientific world. The community is strong and can definitely help. A powerful heartbreaking story and a must read.”


AMAZON REVIEWS

(click to see all Amazon reviews)

AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

The book is amazing and so informative

By Ellen Hobgood–April 20, 2017

A must in anyone's collection that has Lymes Disease or a family member.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Well researched account of the Lyme problem patients are going through

By Laura I–April 4, 2017

Ok I am biased because my story is featured in the book, but the author does do a wonderful job of accurately researching and wrapping up the terrible Lyme situation patients are facing. this is a great book for anyone to read who does not understand the no win situation those with tick borne illnesses go through.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

First Rate Book on Lyme Disease!

By Autumn–March 31, 2017

I am not all the way through Lyme Madness, but I have to tell you that this is probably the most raw, well written, interesting, comprehensive book that I have read so far on Lyme. Lori doesn't miss a beat! The number of books that are being published about Lyme Disease is increasing at an alarming rate. We are hearing from doctors who provide insight. We are hearing from Lyme patients that battle the dreadful disease every single day. We need to hear from the caregivers, the family members, and the friends of people who have been touched by Lyme. Lori chronicles her experiences to find answers for her son, provides information on current issues related to Lyme, and helps the reader to understand why educating everyone about Lyme is imperative to our society as the number of cases worldwide steadily increases. Congratulations to Lori for producing such a fine piece of work in this book! It is a must read!


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Heart wrenching personal account and excellent teaching resource!

By Jennifer Howard–March 25, 2017

Lori Dennis' book "Lyme Madness" was highly recommended to me by a good friend. I just finished reading it. Lyme is such a complicated disease fraught with politics and this book did an excellent job of taking the reader through the history in a very easy to understand way. As well, the way she skillfully weaves the poignant story of her own son's struggle with Lyme with so many other heartwrenching stories brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion. I have struggled with chronic Lyme, undiagnosed for 6 years and so could totally relate to these stories. For anyone who thinks they may have Lyme or has been diagnosed, this book so eloquently captures the confusion, the pain and the isolation in dealing with a "DIY" disease. However, I would say this is also a fantastic book for those who do not have Lyme, it's for anyone who wishes to learn more about the struggles victims face and the politics that unfortunately are making it difficult for Governments and doctors to properly address all the aspects of this complicated illness. I highly recommend this book, everyone must understand this, as the rapid expansion of ticks across North America and worldwide, means we are all only one bite away from being the next victim!


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Essential reading for anyone dealing with Lyme disease

By Audio–March 21, 2017

I think this is an essential book for anyone dealing with Lyme disease. There is so much complexity in trying to get treatment. It's hard to try to understand the forces behind the denial of the disease by the government, the medical community and the insurance companies.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

I recommended it to many friends

By Katherine A. Zigmond–March 17, 2017

I just finished reading this book yesterday. My copy is quite colorful from all of the passages that I highlighted. As I was reading the book, I recommended it to many friends, and will continue to do so. Lori Dennis clearly "gets" it. Madness is the perfect word to describe this illness, as well as the struggle for diagnosis, treatments, and even just acknowledgment of this ravaging epidemic. Her writing touched my heart. Warrior moms are formidable as individuals; as a united group, we can, do, and will move mountains. I highly, highly recommend this book for anyone battling Lyme Disease, anyone who cares about someone battling Lyme Disease, and anyone who works in or will be working in the medical profession. Doctors especially need their eyes opened - and their hearts.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

The book was informative and I would certainly recommend it.

By bonnie– March 10, 2017

My sibling has Lymes and this book was very helpful in understanding what he is going through, and what he may have to look forward to in his future. The most important lesson was to not judge, and to be there when he needs something or someone.The book was informative and I would certainly recommend it.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

A great book

By Ulysses–March 7, 2017

This book shouted out our voice.Almost all Lyme disease sufferers have same story and experiences, which means a very long, painful road to walk.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Powerful Account of a Ferocious Struggle Against Lyme Disease

By Erin Parochka–February 11, 2017

Lori Dennis has just written a ferocious account of a Horrifying Battle, HER SON'S! This is a wise, compassionate, and comprehensive book on a very serious illnesses that afflicts literally millions of people-Lyme Disease! Her book is a God send to those who those suffering as well as their loved ones. Lyme Madness is an excellent contribution to our understanding of a very complex health issue that has become a national epidemic in the U.S. and across the world. Her many years of experience as a leader in caring for patients, including her own son, shine through in her rich examples and honest tone that help the reader not only feel informed but also truly understood and validated. Thank you for opening yourself up and letting God use you to bless others. This should be required reading for all humans! Thank you, Thank you. Absolutely Riveting!


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

The power of a mother’s love, but also provides valuable insight and information

By JG–December 8, 2016

This is an absolutely eye opening book about an illness that needs to be talked about more often and understood in greater depth. This tremendous story of a mother fighting alongside her son to navigate his Lyme disease diagnosis, treatment, and exposing the complexities, medical confusion and often injustice that is Lyme Disease, is gut wrenching and inspiring in so many ways. 

This book not only shows the strength of the human spirit, the power of a mothers love, but also provides valuable insight and information, through personal experiences and stories, about Lyme disease and the varied and complex treatment options. The author explains such a complicated illness and world in a brilliant, organized, and comprehensive way. The personal stories in this book are touching and make fellow Lyme sufferers, like myself, feel validated and much less alone. 

As someone who has first hand experience in this world this story touched me deeply and expressed perfectly the pain and frustration coupled with the deep desire for hope and change better than I could ever have hoped to. Perhaps most importantly this book, I believe, provides crucial help and insight for those individuals supporting and loving someone who is navigating this illness. 

The author’s knowledge about the disease and deep compassion for helping others permeates through word and every page. This book asks critical and insightful questions that beg for answers from our medical communities. I wish everyone, especially medical professionals will read this book and be open to what it discusses. I have not yet read any book or article that spoke to this issue so fully and truthfully as Lyme Madness. For anyone looking to understand or learn about Lyme Disease, or knows someone who is struggling with this illness, this is a book you must own and read!!


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

This is a must read for all Lyme sufferers, ...

By SB–December 7, 2016

This is a must read for all Lyme sufferers, caregivers, families, and health care professionals. In her new book, Lyme Madness, Lori Dennis is a powerful voice and a brave and dedicated advocate for all those affected by the madness of Chronic Lyme Disease. In her book, she describes her four-year long journey in which she immersed herself in this very complex world searching for new knowledge and understanding all while learning how to traverse this unfamiliar territory for her son, Matt, who was diagnosed with this debilitating disease. The pages of Lyme Madness are filled with Lori's hard work, dedication, and perseverance in the hope of bringing global awareness and attention to this complex disease while helping others learn to navigate this most difficult maze with greater ease towards health and well being. As a health care professional, there is no doubt that Lyme Madness will bring renewed hope and difference to the lives of so many.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

All Lyme sufferers, doctors and health professionals must read this.

By MD–December 6, 2016

The book is a must read for Lyme patients and their friends and family ... but ESPECIALLY doctors and health professionals who generally lack knowledge regarding how to diagnose and treat Lyme patients. It delves not only into the details of how patients can navigate this 'do it yourself' disease but also into the politics regarding how we got to where we are today -- with Lyme being the fastest growing infectious disease in North America and yet so few doctors understand it leading to persistent missed and mis- diagnoses. Hopefully Lori can help others as she has helped me.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

A compelling, heart-breaking story of a mother dedicating all of her time, energy and love to get her son back to health

By Amazon Customer–December 7, 2016

“Lyme Madness is a compelling, heart-breaking story of a Canadian mother dedicating all of her time, energy, intelligence and love to get her son back to health. It reads like a travel journey. A journey into what the author rightly calls Alice’s Hole to Wonderland, set in the context of modernday health care. It is a well written and documented book. This book clearly shows what the love of a mother can do and how many mothers are now standing up for their ill children. 

It will be a guide for other parents when their children suddenly fall ill, are misdiagnosed, mistreated and finally shunned or invalidated by the doctors you supposed would be knowledgeable and willing to help you. Or it may even be a clear warning to look into this subject, before they fall as ill as countless others have, all over the world. Madness has two meanings. It is the experience of discovering the madness of a system invested by groupthink, vested interests, misinformation and corruption.A system that punishes doctors who are willing to help parents like Lori Dennis. The second is the madness or anger that arises after years of frustration, of seeing your own child and many like him suffer needlessly. This book deals with both. 

The author’s personal experience combined with her professional knowledge as a therapist will provide other parents with a guide through this Rabbithole and will save them much frustration, time and money. It provides them with insights in the many medical and psychological pitfalls in Lyme Land, with practical approaches, with a brave investigation of reasons why the status quo has been like this for over forty years and with a range of stories by other people. Especially these personal stories will validate other parents’ and Lyme patients own sanity on an often lonely journey back to health - with the glimmers of light at the end of the tunnel that this book fortunately also provides. May this book add to the mounting evolution of activities to end the Madness of negating and downplaying Lyme as the global epidemic that it is.”

Huib Kraaijeveld, author of ’Shifting the Lyme Paradigm; the Caretakers’ Guide through the Labyrinth’ and founder of the On Lyme Foundation, the Netherlands


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

IMPORTANT BOOK FOR HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS

By Dr. Allie Dennis, DC–December 9, 2016

Lyme Disease is something most healthcare professionals just barely glanced over in school but through my brother's experience and my mom's extensive research with the disease I've learned it's much more common and much more confusing than anything we ever learn.

If you have any patients who are suffering with this disease, or just struggling to find a diagnosis for something they've been dealing with for a long time - advise them to purchase this book. In the book, Lori Dennis outlines her experience helping my brother navigate this crazy disease in the hopes that other people will have an easier time finding solutions and not have to deal with as much madness as they did.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Kudos to Lori Dennis for writing “Lyme Madness”, a must read for the ill-informed.

By Carl Tuttle–December 12, 2016

I applaud Lori Dennis for her efforts in attempting to educate the public about this life-altering/life threatening infection misclassified as a simple nuisance disease. Personal experiences described in her book “Lyme Madness” are not new however as stories like this have been hidden from the public for over three decades. The focus over this period has been to discredit the horribly sick and disabled as opposed to finding a cure for this antibiotic resistant/tolerant superbug; truly “Madness” for sure and a crime against humanity on a growing global scale. Those who have studied the wrongful handling of this disease believe that the rush to create a vaccine for Lyme led to its mishandling. In fact, the lead investigators of the two previous Lyme vaccines claim that Lyme is easily diagnosed and easily cured with 1-2 weeks of ABX. Prior to vaccine development, persistent infection (Chronic Lyme) was commonly reported in the literature. Shameful affair indeed as a congressional investigation is long overdue.-Carl Tuttle, Hudson, NH


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Lori Dennis Brilliantly Tackles the Complexities of Lyme on a Politial and Personal Level 💚

By P. McCarthy–December 28, 2016

Lori Dennis has produced a long overdue indictment of our medical system with respect to treatment of Lyme disease. She very eloquently presents the complex politics surrounding the nightmare that is Lyme. In doing so, she offers hope To the many hundreds of thousands who are suffering in desperation with literally no where to turn. This disease ravages on many levels physically and leaves many financially, emotionally and physically broken. Thank you Lori for shining a light on those who suffer and giving us an eloquent and powerful voice!


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Dennis offers her clear thoughts on what could be done to better the situation

By Tony Silva–December 12, 2016

If you have Lyme disease or know someone that does - this book is a must have and a must read. Author Lori Dennis goes deep inside the politics and the core of what it means to have the disease and the madness that comes not only from the infection itself, but from being misdiagnosed and misunderstood by doctors, friends, family and the community. We follow her struggles as a mom doing everything she can to help her son Matthew get treated, as well as her frustrations and dead ends. However, at the same time, Dennis offers her clear thoughts on what could be done to better the situation. I finished the book angry, but at the same time hopeful that Lyme disease is getting the attention it finally deserves. And this book sheds light, I hope it gets in the hands of politicians and doctors that could make a change. Highly recommended.


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Listen up.......this is real

By Amazon Customer–December 17, 2016

Lyme Madness by Lori Dennis. From start to finish you feel like you are on this journey with Lori and Matt. Her unconditional love for her son never wavers as she is on an uphill battle to find answers for this terrible disease. Her tenacity and strength are evident throughout........ this book is gut-wrenching as Lori navigates through our BROKEN health care system to find answers to help heal her son. Lori has given a voice and an ear to all the people who are scared and alone in this world of Lyme disease. I applaud her and thank her for all the hard work she has done for all of us.– Ellie Stein RN BScN


AmazonFiveGoldStars

5.0 out of 5 stars

Your book is a Godsend for spelling out the steps a Lyme sufferer goes through.....from trying to get a diagnosis to treatment

By L VanS–December 26, 2016

Patrick recommended your book. It is the very best book written from our point of view. I've only been officially diagnosed with Lyme for a little over a month. I have suspected Lyme for about 6 months, when I started messaging my cousin. I realized, that all my weird orphan syndromes and symptoms could be summed up with only one diagnosis. I am going to the only ILADS doctor in Houston. But, thanks to you, I now, have a book describing my 8 year journey into madness. Thank you so much! The quote, that resounded with me the most was, "When did you get your medical degree?" 😫 I have heard this from my husband and daughter for quite a while now. They just don't understand, that you have to do your own medical research in order to find a treatment, that works for you. I am going to make them read this book, so they will, finally, understand what I'm going through!!!!

By the way, I NEVER give reviews.....BUT, THIS IS AN ESSENTIAL BOOK FOR ALL LYME PATIENTS AND THEIR FAMILIES!

©Lori Dennis, MA, RP  2017–Author, speaker, therapist based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada • website by Joan Holman Productions–www.holman.com